Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best Track Shocks

Old 06-01-2012, 01:27 PM
betelgeuse
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Best Track Shocks

I tracked my 03 Z06 for the first time this week. I run Time Attack in Showroom Stock Unlimited (SSU) with Corvettes of Massachusetts Sports Car Club (COMSCC).
According to the rules the only thing on the suspension that can be changed is the shocks.
I'm no shock expert but when I was on the track pushing it the stockers felt like they needed more rebound or something. The car felt like it was oscillating from corner to corner and it was skittish and darting under hard braking.
I've been thinking about the Johnny O'Connell shocks but I've read the Bilsteins, Konis, and the C06Z shocks are good. I'm looking for maximum control and grip on the race track.
Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Greg
Old 06-01-2012, 03:03 PM
PushinTheLimit
Burning Brakes

Received 9 Likes on 2 Posts

I've got some Koni 3013 shocks that I just took of my racecar. PM for details if you're interested.
Old 06-01-2012, 03:06 PM
TNTC4VETTE
Will work for HPDE time.
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The JOC's are awesome. I absolutely love them.
Old 06-01-2012, 03:10 PM
naschmitz
Burning Brakes

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

Since external reservoirs are prohibited, you can't run the Penske 8300s I have (and LOVE).

Richard Strout could give you some dyno data on these at full hard and full soft: http://hardbarusa.com/hardbar/produc...roducts_id=122
Old 06-01-2012, 03:36 PM
betelgeuse
Instructor

Originally Posted by naschmitz
Since external reservoirs are prohibited, you can't run the Penske 8300s I have (and LOVE).

Richard Strout could give you some dyno data on these at full hard and full soft: http://hardbarusa.com/hardbar/produc...roducts_id=122