Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

gmr hubs/bearings

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 04:42 AM
trackboss
Melting Slicks

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

Default gmr hubs/bearings

I just ran across these. Anyone know anything about them?
The comparison chart doesn't show much of anything proving that they are better than the SKF heavy duty/race bearings. I'm no engineer, but I would think aluminum would be worse than the skf steel. From what I've always dealt with alumuminum typically needs to have more material to make it as strong as a high quality steel part of equivalent dimensions. I don't see that with these. I suppose in an ultra light race car aluminum might be ok, but in something over 3000lbs. I'd think it would be a poor choice for a track vehicle in particular. Unless of course the component was much beefier than the design it replaces. Plus the thermal properties are different.

http://thegmr.com/?page_id=17
Old 10-03-2012, 08:39 AM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

Interesting looking hub assemblies that appear to be well engineered and manufactured. Replaceable serviceable bearings could be a big plus to racers that destroy hubs on a regular basis. What is the price point on these units ? Any forum engineers that can give us some input on the aluminum construction pros and cons ?
Old 10-03-2012, 09:16 AM
2MCHPWR
Drifting

Received 61 Likes on 39 Posts

$1600!
Old 10-03-2012, 12:13 PM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

That is certainly interesting, but the emphasis on "style" and misspelling(s) in the ad (corosive) make me wonder how serious the company is.

But they do use them on the TapOut race car I guess.

Old 10-03-2012, 03:17 PM
geerookie
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts