Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I Need Help With Safety Gear For Street & Track

Old 10-13-2012, 10:22 AM
George33
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Default I Need Help With Safety Gear For Street & Track

I'm an experienced driver on the track and need some help and advice with safety equipment.

I'm getting into a new Z06 that will be used on the street as well as the track and was wondering
what you guys are running in your C6 Vettes as far as safety equipment ?

Namely . . . Harness belts, roll bar, harness bar, race seats, etc. ? ? ?

I'd prefer a roll bar to attach them to, but haven't found an easy roll bar to install in the C6 that
doesn't require welding or buggers up the rear area in a new car.

Also, I need advice for a streetable seat with pass-throughs, since race seats are not an option
on a new car that will also be used on the street, especially with the Mrs.

This is still a street car and occaisional serious track car, so I'm looking for something that will
give me a safe but clean installation.

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-13-2012, 03:11 PM
Jason
Team Owner

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
CI 4-5-6-7 Veteran

*crickets*

Honestly, compromises never come cheaply, and they still end up being compromises. So this is what I would do:
Get a bolt in harness bar.
Get a real race seat, rails, and 6pt belts.
Swap the seat out when you go the track. The first time will be a big PITA, after a couple times it won't be that bad.
Wear a good helmet, HANS, and firesuit on track. Every time.

These cars go stupid fast, physics doesn't care if it's a "street car". Your wife won't mind that you spend money on safety equipment. If she does we can show her a few videos explaining why she wants you to have it.
Old 10-13-2012, 05:40 PM
George33
Pro