Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

building roll bar tools?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2012, 04:19 PM
rithsleeper
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default building roll bar tools?

Guys this summer i plan on taking an welding course at the tech college here in town. After my success with building my 10ft ramps im confident in basic stuff. However for safety concerns i want to make sure its 100%.

Will a manual pipe bender from harbor freight (16 ton), basic band saw, and drill press along with my welder be what i need to complete the task?

Im planning on a 6 point bar in my 89 for 5 point harness on track days and then begin working on an e30 that i will eventually drop an ls1 in as a dedicated race car.

I figure it may take time but anything is better than paying 2k for someone else to do it, and since im a teacher, summers are mine to do what i please. Time is in abundance, but money is extremely short supply.

On a side note, if i wanted to extend the cage to a full one in my 89, anyone have a pic of that in either a c4 or c5 with all interior intact and a legal race cage?
Old 12-23-2012, 06:09 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 712 Likes on 493 Posts

don't know what hydraulic benders cost, but this $500 bender is a good deal and it is fine for simple roll bars. The hard part for me is notching the ends, not sure the best tool for doing that. Sometimes I use a grinder, sometimes the plasma cutter, but it's always slow and messy.

http://www.lowbucktools.com/hydbender.html
Old 12-23-2012, 06:14 PM
JDIllon
Melting Slicks

Received 297 Likes on 78 Posts