Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'Vert harness install ??

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2013, 02:37 AM
C5WrenchMonkey
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 'Vert harness install ??

Hi everyone. This question isn't strictly related to racing, but you guys seemed like the SMEs on all things race-related.

I've been looking at swapping out my seats and steering wheel for some better looking, better functioning aftermarket goodies. My main issue is with the Momo wheel I want, I'll lose the airbag. Now, I'm a relatively safe driver, but accidents happen. I'd hate to have something happen and I've got nothing but the factory belts keeping me from a gruesome end.

My main question is this: Since I wouldn't be using the car for racing (at least not in the near future, but I'm moving in with a guy that LOVES autox lol), is there anyway I can install a harness bar WITHOUT a rollbar?? I want to keep my vert looking reasonably close to stock with the top down.

Thanks for the responses!

Monkey
Old 05-08-2013, 05:50 AM
StreetSpeed
Pro

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts

You'll get a range of answers on this one - some more condescending than others. But really if you're not going to be racing then there is really no reason to install and use a harness on the street. The factory 3 points are by far the safest (and most comfortable) option and depending on who you talk to, they'll say you shouldn't be installing a harness system with anything less than a full cage, at which point you'll need to drive around with a helmet and HANS on at all times as well.

All those warnings aside, if you just want to install a harness on the cheap the Shark Bar harness bar is popular and economical.

Edit: just realized you were talking about a vert - not sure if most harness bars will mount up in a vert...
Old 05-08-2013, 09:17 AM