Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OEM brake pads on track?

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2013, 06:21 PM
WannaC5Z
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default OEM brake pads on track?

This coming Saturday will be my first time on track with this car. I have six years experience with my former Mustang Cobra but this will be a first for the Z. I have already installed SS braided front brake lines and flushed with Motul fluid, however I didn't get around to changing out the pads yet. How will the OEM pads hold up under hard braking? Should I take it easy on them? I am assuming they are the originals as the car only has 41k miles on it. I did buy another set of rotors and Hawk HP+ pads. Should I go ahead and install them before I go or get a feel on the stock pads first? I assume there will be some gassing build up and some brake fade. I am taking a vacation day on Friday with the purpose of spending time with my daughters and my wife as it is her birthday. I really hate to be out wrenching on the car for a couple of hours when I am going to be gone all day Saturday at the track.
Old 06-26-2013, 06:36 PM
geerookie
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I understand the wrenching all day when you have more important things to do.
Brakes come in handy at the track! If you baby them you should be OK but if you want to drive the car you better switch pads. HP+ is better than stock by a bunch but still not up to what a Corvette can actually do under braking.
I still would change pads and I'm easy on the brakes.
Old 06-26-2013, 06:47 PM
John Holmes
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts