Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SCCA- 2011 Grand Sport w/mods- SS, SSm, SSr? What class?

Old 10-07-2013, 09:43 AM
UrbanKnight
Drifting

Received 122 Likes on 97 Posts

Default SCCA- 2011 Grand Sport w/mods- SS, SSm, SSr? What class?

I am just getting into Autocross. I finished my novice group and placed first in my last novice event... Needless to say, I am now kicked out of novice and on to classing.

So, the C6 classes as SS- I also see SSM and SSR, and not sure what throws me into each. I have a pesky Lotus running on race tires in SSR with my local group. I downloaded the rulebook, but being so unfamiliar with it, it left me a bit confused.

My Mods:
Intake, Longtubes, and exhaust

I would also like to add a stage 1 style suspension- Sways and shocks- will that also schange my class?

Ultimately, I am only doing this to better me as a driver, and not worried about points and nationals and such, but I want to play by the rules.

If I switch to race tires, I think I am sure that moves me...

Thanks!
Old 10-07-2013, 10:32 AM
JRL
Pro

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts

Mods put you in SSP if you keep leaf springs. Coliovers put you into SSM.
Old 10-07-2013, 10:51 AM
69autoXr
Melting Slicks

Received 209 Likes on 159 Posts

Your current mods put you into SSP (Super Street Prepared). Your planned suspension mods (sways and shocks) are allowed in SSP, as are R-compound tires. The rule book tells you what mods you are allowed to do in each category (stock, street prepared, street modified, etc.). If it doesn't say you can do it, then you can't.

As mentioned, if you were to move to coilovers, you would bump to SSM (Super Street Modified).