Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Autox

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2013, 07:14 AM
spro2395
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Autox

Hi All,
I'm very new to autox and so far I'm really bad at it (but want to improve) my next race is Saturday. One of the many things I'm having a problem with is left foot braking I start off the run doing it and by the first or second turn I realize that iv'e switched to my right.
Is it that beneficial to left foot brake?
Joe
Old 10-23-2013, 07:34 AM
jbondfl
Melting Slicks

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 41 Likes on 30 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12-'13-'14

Absolutely. Look for "how to drive fast" by Alex Lloyd. I'll stop short of saying it is the best reference but it will, at the very least, tell you WHY it is important. My last instructor cautioned me that it is very hard to learn while on the track because, as you have found, reflex takes over under pressure.
I've been practicing while city driving and after a few months still find myself reverting back.
Old 10-23-2013, 07:42 AM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts

Some folks do and some don't. Sam Strano (multi time national champ) doesn't do it and does not recommend it. Personally I have always found it pretty natural, probably from karting.
Old 10-23-2013, 07:44 AM
UrbanKnight
Drifting

Received 122 Likes on 97 Posts

If you are new to autox, I wouldn;t worry about left foot braking yet.

Learn clean, smooth lines, and get comfortable pushing the car hard before you start tweaking with things like left foot braking. It is an important skill, but you are trying to do fine motor work before you tackle the rough motor work...
Old 10-23-2013, 10:08 AM
joenationwide
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by UrbanKnight