Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tick/Tilton Clutch Master Cylinder Use Reviews

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2013, 08:54 AM
BryanPendleton
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tick/Tilton Clutch Master Cylinder Use Reviews

The master cylinder (MC) on my C5 has given up the ghost, so I am at the crossroads of deciding what to replace the MC with. OE? Tick? Tilton? I use the car for HPDE's and daily driving. I do not plan any major performance modifications (at most a mild heads/cam setup) in the distance future. Goal is building a reliable car the still retains good street manners. As a experienced Mechanical engineer I am trying to get through the marketing crap and find out the facts and get some real feedback on Clutch MC use, as most reviews, like myself, are replacing faulty MC's, so naturally the reviews tend to be positive.

So first things first. . .

DESIGN
OE - Plastic body? Piston Bore Diameter? Piston seal design? Part metal hard line and flex line. No heat shielding on line. No adjustment needed.
Tick - Aluminum body. Appears to be based on Tilton 75-series M (Reference Link) Piston Bore Diameter? Piston seal design? Adjustable shaft length. Stainless steel flexible hydraulic line. Heat shield on hydraulic line. What "expertise" was employeed into the Tilton MC that makes its more effective and reliable? What are the "few NASCAR concepts" used?
Tilton - Not sure if this even exists as a off-the-shelf kit, but I read that someone used a smaller piston bore tilton MC for C5.

CLUTCH USE/FEEL
OE - Well this is simply the baseline. It provides enought travel to allow feathering of the clutch on the street. Allows smooth feathering during downshifts with imperfect rev matching to avoid sharp weight upsets.