Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road Racing Slicks - Need advice

Old 03-03-2014, 03:13 PM
Lars Rogers
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Road Racing Slicks - Need advice

I've been autocrossing and some track days in various cars for over 10 years now. Mostly on Hoosier A6. I'm looking to grab a set of really sticky non-DOT full road racing slicks for a special Corvette-only autocross this year to see how they compare and to act as an exhibition car for the event.

Since full slicks aren't my forte, I'm looking for advice. I'm running 18x11 front and 18x13 rear wheels on a C6ZR1. The car gets driven by myself and my wife (Also very capable of handling the risks of massive grip). Courses are generally about a minute. The event will be in the summer, so getting "some" heat in the tires should be easy.

Need recommendations on manufacturer, size, and compound. If you know a good source, that helps as well. Obviously, they need to be grippier than A6's. If that's not an option, then I guess I'll stick with what I know.
Old 03-03-2014, 03:42 PM
Screamin Z
Burning Brakes

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Best tire I know of is the S9H compound that Michelin puts out. Pricy as hell and not suited for autocross unless you have some tire warmers. Grips like crazy though when warm. Costs more as well.

Finspeed can hook you up. They will fit on your rims.
Old 03-03-2014, 04:03 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,917 Likes on 5,327 Posts