Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New tranny cooler idea

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2014, 12:23 AM
parsonsj
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Default New tranny cooler idea

I've been testing this setup for about 9 months now through 4 HPDEs at Sebring and Homestead. I used to get the transmission fluid overheating warning by the 3rd session, and could only run about 10 minutes on the 4th session of the day. Ambient temp didn't matter, January at Homestead (in the low 80s) was no better than June at Sebring (mid-90s).

With this setup, I did three straight sessions (60-70 minutes straight) at Sebring in December (mid-80s) with no issue, and ran all day at Homestead.

It's an air to oil cooler (Setrab plate design). It uses the space where the leaf spring used to be, along with a bottom scoop to pull air through it.

My car is an 07 Z06, so it's got built-in pumps and the fluid-fluid heat transfer setup for the differential fluid.

Monitoring the temp (using a DashLogic) shows track temps around 245 at the end of a session, and street temps around 195 (with highway temps or stop and go traffic not mattering all that much).

Here's a few pics:
Attached Images    
Old 03-08-2014, 01:24 AM
Supercharged111
Safety Car

Received 472 Likes on 349 Posts

That is too cool. Do you have any pics with the shield uninstalled, or is the cooler mounted to the shield?
Old 03-08-2014, 09:31 AM
parsonsj
Racer

The cooler is mounted to the shield/scoop. Without it the cooler just dangles...
Old 03-08-2014, 11:45 AM
Supercharged111
Safety Car

Received 472 Likes on 349 Posts

Do you think there's enough room to cram a trans and diff cooler in there?
Old 03-08-2014, 01:14 PM
parsonsj
Racer

No, I don't think so. Or at least to keep the existing ground clearance, anyway.