Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Veteran Drivers

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2014, 12:35 PM
Ca2Tx
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Veteran Drivers

Hi,

I'm looking for the veteran track drivers that have been running the C6 for a few seasons.

I'm a driver that's been campaigning another marque for a few years, and am looking to get back into Corvettes for a track day car that's still (barely) streetable.

For now, horsepower is not a problem. Am looking for what works in the suspension department. I read that these cars also need additional cool air, not only to the engine, but to the transmission and wheels as well. Also, driver safety - belts, seat, etc. What are you guys running?

Can anyone that's experienced (> 10 events) share what's required to have a safe, reliable car for track days?

PS: I've read part of the epic threads about valve drops in some of these cars. Would like to not recreate them here.

Thanks.
Old 06-12-2014, 02:29 PM
Short-Throw
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

PM sent
Old 06-12-2014, 03:58 PM
TKOGTO
Burning Brakes

Received 62 Likes on 50 Posts

As with most things, it depends. In your case on how frequently you intend to track it and the tires you choose. There are likely a few other mods that others will chime in with but I will start with these:
Regardless of the tire choice, I am of the opinion the base or GS C6 needs the following to meet your criteria:
1. cooling for the front brakes - I used the Quantum kit with a heat shield for the ball joints/tie rods
2. a BBK for the front - others may feel it is unnecessary but after a few years of royal PITA pad changes, pads that are too thin and dust boot fires, I am a convert. AP Racing, StopTech, Wilwood are all good choices. Track pads go w/o saying