Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

telemetry and data capture at the track?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2014, 04:51 PM
rabrooks
Drifting

Received 54 Likes on 46 Posts

Default telemetry and data capture at the track?

I want to capture data while on the track. I have a hard mount camera mount and sony video camera but that's all. What do I need to be able to get the gauges and G's on the camera so it's visible when I view it later. I am a little familiar with trackmate. But I'm not sure about the integration

I'm not a total techie nor am I completely ignorant of technology. So, hopefully, I'll be able to grasp what you recomend

Thanks
Old 06-19-2014, 10:40 PM
tytek
Gasoline Addict
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 47 Likes on 36 Posts

Here is what I would do - about $200 to get the stuff required. Another $200 if you want to use a gopro white.

Buy Harry's lap timer Grand Prix app for a smartphone (assuming you already have a phone). Then, get a Bluetooth GPS receiver (dual xgps150a) and use that with the app. You can also get a wifi obd2 dongle (obdlink mx) to capture engine data. If you record via gopro, you can use Bluetooth to start recording when on the track (app does it).

The trick is to later upload it all to the app and overlay it onto the video. Results are great, but it isn't simple. Here is a link for more info:

http://www.gps-laptimer.de/Compatibility.html
Old 06-20-2014, 07:09 AM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 47 Likes on 37 Posts

If mostly you just want videos with data overlay then tytek's solution is economical and easy. Its the way to go if you have a iPhone or Android.