Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C7 track car prep

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2014, 01:38 PM
Monaco335
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default C7 track car prep

Hey all,

So coming from the bmw world I'm quite new to vettes. I'm prepping the car for some open track days and could use your advice.

Oil: 5w50 oil change

Pads: Carbotech x10 front x8 rear on order

Brake Fluid: Castrol SRF (although I heard bleeding the brakes require more than just the caliper bleed nipples. ie other locations?). I used to user ATE superblue but they no longer sell blue ??

Wheels/Tires: This is where I need your help. I want to save the z51 wheels and pricey Michelins for the street and use a track wheel/tire setup. My skill level isn't really at r compound yet since I still like to hear the squeal so something like Hankook RS3's would be perfect. Are there any recommended cheap wheels in 18 that would fit the c7 z51?

Does anyone know if changing diff fluid is really needed?

Is there anything else I am missing for the vette?

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-08-2014, 04:04 PM
blkbrd69
Drifting

Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

Great info here for all Corvettes as the same engineers or beancounters did them all.

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/auto...e-learned.html
Old 07-08-2014, 05:23 PM
ErnieN85
Safety Car

Received 264 Likes on 221 Posts

Originally Posted by spiike32
Hey all,

So coming from the bmw world I'm quite new to vettes. I'm prepping the car for some open track days and could use your advice.

Oil: 5w50 oil change

Pads: Carbotech x10 front x8 rear on order

Brake Fluid: Castrol SRF (although I heard bleeding the brakes require more than just the caliper bleed nipples. ie other locations?). I used to user ATE superblue but they no longer sell blue ??