Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Racing T1 Brakes for C5

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2014, 09:50 PM
Razodo
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Racing T1 Brakes for C5

Hi Everyone,

I've been tracking for several years now and last October I bought a 2002 C5 Z06 as a track car. The car is pretty much stock but it does have a Ron Davis Radiator with oil cooler, T1 sway bars and E2 tunnel plate. So far the car has been excellent but my only issue has been the brakes. I went through my first set of Hawks by the second track days at Sebring and one new rotor cracked. I am using cheap NAPA rotors. After that, I replaced all four calipers with OEM rebuilt, and tried PFC-11s (new compound that replaced PFC-01). That didn't make much difference since after the third track day, pads where gone. Even with cheap rotors it's getting expensive to be replacing pads and rotors every 2-3 track days. Even if when I start a track day with fresh pads, fresh fluid and rotors, it is not long when I start getting a long pedal. By the way, I do have SS lines, I use racing fluid Motul 600, flush regularly, and cooling ducts.

I need your help in selecting a good brake kit for my situation. I've done lot of research on the forum about this subject but it seems that most threads are old and do not take into consideration some of the new brake kits for the C5. I will specially like to hear from guys that track actively and even better from racers. I am only doing HPDEs and not racing so I don't need a brake system to win anything. I do like to keep my car T1 compliant in case I decide to race some time in the near future, so it is important to me to hear from T1 guys. My priority is that it has a good balance between cost of consumables and braking performance. I am looking to spend around $2,000.