Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Most Track-Ready Corvette? (C5, C6)

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2014, 09:36 PM
JakeL
Drifting

Received 31 Likes on 19 Posts

Default Most Track-Ready Corvette? (C5, C6)

Hey all -

been a lonnggggg time since my last post. I had a 97 C5 Z51 until 2002 which I autocrossed in Street-Mod2, and did some track days. Sold it to buy a Radical and have been in similar cars ever since.

I've been racing SCCA open wheel quite successfully for the past 10 years, but since SCCA racing is sort of dying off around Colorado, plus us having a new baby boy, I'm considering taking a step back into production cars that don't take quite as much time to keep in tip-top shape for the race track, and that I'll be able to drive day-to-day a bit for fun as well. Plus, getting tired of "racing" in a class of one.

What I'm trying to get a sense of (and doing lots of forum searching), is generally how Corvettes have come along in terms of track-readiness. For example, my C5 would overheat the oil, water, brakes, diff, and transmission after only a few short hard laps on track.

I see that some of the C6's (Z06 only?) came with diff/transmission coolers. How do they do with brakes, oil, water, etc?

I'm thinking I'll probably do some NASA Time Trials with the car just to scratch the competitive itch. Thinking of a C5 Z06, or a C6 Z06, or perhaps a C6 GS, (what with all the fear of the C6 Z06 heads going kerblammo).

Is the C6 Z06 dry sump really worth anything, or is it not a very effective system out on track once there are slicks and higher g's involved? I ask since shortly after I sold my C5, the new owner ran it low on oil and blew 'er up. In the open wheel cars, we always run dry sumps.