Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me get faster...

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2014, 12:21 AM
tytek
Gasoline Addict
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 47 Likes on 36 Posts

Default Help me get faster...

Below is a video of a few laps from my trip to Putnam Park a couple of weeks ago. I am still learning this car (only 2nd time in it at the track), and I obviously need more seat time (not to mention talent). However, please critique my line, technique, and anything else you'd like to, in order help me become a better driver and to ultimately help me get faster.

The lap times in this almost six minute video are as follows: 1.21.43 (partial), 1:21.45, 1:21.02, 1:21.00 (fastest lap), 1:21.19. I know that there are ways to improve my lap, but on that day and on those tires I was unable to do any better.

Old 09-22-2014, 10:56 PM
5280Racer
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

this is purely a opinion and only from what I can see and comparing to my car which is purpose built.

You still are learning like you said, there for you still have to develop your style in that car.. you need to push its limits and let it hang out so you know how to drive it 7/10ths. some of the corners you turn in to soon and some good and some late.. consistency is key in road racing. also on the back straight you brake to early for me that is... but if you don't have the brakes to support it then don't push it. focus on driving and practice which will take time and track time.. get good brakes and brake cooling them some sticky tires and small suspension tweaks and go from there.
Old 09-23-2014, 12:16 AM
SouthernSon
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,103 Likes on 717 Posts