Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My 1999 FRC Carbon Fiber SCCA/NASA aero build thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2014, 03:53 PM
NH4CN
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 1999 FRC Carbon Fiber SCCA/NASA aero build thread

Hey everyone!
This is a build thread for my Carbon Fiber track aero build.

A little intro and background...

I'm currently a Pharmacy Technician, however I also make and sell carbon fiber components when I have free time. When I was 16 I bought a 2003 WRX and got into Autocrossing that. It was a blast and I ended up not doing too poorly my first season. (Took 4th overall out of 10 in STX. I missed 2 events due to my car being down, and did the entire season WITHOUT power steering. I was also running some terrible all seasons where everyone else was running StarSpecs or comparable tires.)

That car was fantastic, and I loved it, but I was ready to love up to something a little more challenging, capable, and rewarding. I sold it in February 2014 so I could begin the search.

August 2014, I found a 1999 Corvette FRC for sale with 70,000 miles. I've been wanting a Corvette for a few years now, so I decided to jump on it.

Name:  jx5BvFO.png
Views: 5
Size:  1.42 MB

Rumor has it that classes for autocross are being reworked, and the C5s might jump down to B "Street" from A "Stock".

My plans for the car are to run in ASR or BSR (depending on whether the classes change or not) in SCCA, and ST2 in NASA. Since aerodynamic mods aren't allowed in Stock classes (SCCA) I might actually end up running a higher class, as I don't want to remove everything every other weekend.

The plan for right now is as follows...
1.) Front Canards
2.) Rear wing/trunk lip
3.) Flat Sideskirts
4.) Front splitter
5.) Rear Diffuser*