Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Needed: Old/Bad ZR1 or Carbon Z06 Carbon Ceramic Rotor: Possibly Regular Z06 Rotor

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 11:17 AM
davidk72008
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Needed: Old/Bad ZR1 or Carbon Z06 Carbon Ceramic Rotor: Possibly Regular Z06 Rotor

Hey guys,

I have an odd request. My best friend has a 2009 JBM Z06 with the ZR1 carbon slitters/spoiler package, and I am wanting to do something a little different for his best man gift for my wedding. I am already setting up a professional photo shoot for his car and mine, but I thought of something that might be a cool idea if I can get some help.

I need a ZR1 or carbon Z06 used rotor that someone is taking off, or has taken off, their car. I have no experience with carbon brakes really, but do they still look decent overall if they're chipped or something causing the need for a replacement? My plan is to make a clock out of it for him, and in the middle put a plate with the Z06 logo on it. I'll see if I can get the plate painted JBM, but if not I'll figure out something that looks good. Are these bad used rotors worth anything, or could I just pay someone shipping to ship one to me?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice on whether this is possible.
Old 09-30-2014, 11:40 AM
k24556
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 205 Likes on 171 Posts

by the time you get someone to ship you a rotor and you go to all the work, and your buddy finds out it takes more than a thumb tack to hold it on a wall, how about this clock, shipped and with a licensed Z06 logo, and supporting the NCM?:

http://store.corvettemuseum.com/detail.aspx?ID=4502

It has been done, many times with regular rotors just do an internet search for brake rotor clocks.
Old 09-30-2014, 12:12 PM
davidk72008
Instructor