Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire choice - wet tracks

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2014, 10:12 PM
emptnest
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Default Tire choice - wet tracks

I am new to HPDE events, now with 3 under my belt and progressing well. So far, I remain on street tires, for my 1993 LT1 Corvette. For my Spring events, I plan to use something like a Nitto NT05 or Continental DW, for normal dry days.

I have extra wheels and am willing to maintain multiple tire sets for appropriate safety and flexibility to meet track conditions.

So the question is this: for wet track days, do specific "wets" such as Hoosier wet H2O tires provide any distinct advantage over good quality all weather street tires?

Recommendations for wet weather tires will be appreciated. My wet choice need not be street able, as I will be trailering to and from.

Last edited by emptnest; 10-14-2014 at 10:14 PM.
Old 10-14-2014, 10:18 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,928 Likes on 5,333 Posts

The Firestone Wide Oval is a great wet weather tire. They are great in deep water.

Bill
Old 10-15-2014, 08:21 AM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts

Racing wets are expensive, have limited use and wear quickly, especially on a drying track. Most track rats don't even have them. The Continental DW is an excellent street tire for use in the wet, amongst the best and way, way better than the NT05. Personally I'd get the DWs are your street/wet tire and trailer a stickier set to the track for your dry track tires.
Old 10-15-2014, 08:38 AM
Scooter70
Le Mans Master

Received 124 Likes on 98 Posts

Originally Posted by Bill Dearborn
The Firestone Wide Oval is a great wet weather tire. They are great in deep water.

Bill
Wide Ovals don't come in wide enough sizes for Corvettes anymore.