Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'01 LS6 Tear Down - Piston Damage (pics)

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2015, 10:54 PM
GO_BLUE_VETTES
Racer

Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts

Default '01 LS6 Tear Down - Piston Damage (pics)

Here are a few pictures of my engine tear down. 2001 LS6 Corvette, 23k miles, with about 15k miles in HPDE / Road Racing. Motor is stock, stock induction system, Kooks headers, and a lightweight Quartermaster clutch. Tuned to 375 rwhp. This is my first time getting deep into the motor – so I’d welcome any assessments or recommendations from those with more experience.

Problem: While driving on the track I had high oil consumption and oil smoke out the tailpipe on deceleration at the end of the straight. Problem was getting progressively worse (frequency and volume of smoke). No noticeable decrease in power or engine performance.

I did a leakdown test on all cylinders. Cylinder #7 was 92% leakdown. Pulled the heads and had them checked – everything was fine. Close up examination of the piston face #7 showed a very slight amount of material missing at about 10 o’clock (see picture). Decided I most likely had a ring problem and decided to pull all the pistons to further examine.

#7 Piston Face in cylinder bore by go blue vettes, on Flickr

#7 Piston Face by go blue vettes, on Flickr

#7 Piston Damage by go blue vettes, on Flickr