Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Data Recorder: 2015 Thoughts

Old 02-24-2015, 10:21 PM
muskamatt
Heel & Toe

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Data Recorder: 2015 Thoughts

Hey Everyone,

I have noticed a lot of the data recorder stuff is quite old. With software coming out for all of these electronics, I wanted to ask what I should do for HPDE's moving forward?

Here is what I have:
-an iPhone 6
-a GoPro Hero 3
-a C5 Z06
-Eye of Mine video sunglasses (http://www.eyeofmineactioncameras.co...iew_s/1885.htm)

A note on the sunglasses - I actually find them to be the easiest thing ever. When they are on, they are recording, off no recording. The GoPro can be a PITA (just reformatted my card because it always shut off). If you can't tell by now I am no production assistant.

What I am looking for:
-Dual video (optional but it would be cool because I have iPhone and GoPro)
-Accurate Track location - this is obvious, however, I believe Harry's Lap Timer requires a solid cell signal. Reception isn't always great at the track so I need something to actually be accurate
-Oil temp, throttle monitor (I know it doesn't do brake monitoring which makes me furious), RPM would all be nice
-Essentially I want to see where I am awdful and try and learn the most from my recordings. THE EASIER THE BETTER. Often times it can be very frustrating strapping into a 5 point and then realizing you have twelve cameras with batteries that are all dying etc. etc.

Questions:
-For the current Harry's Lap timer, do I need an OBDII connection via Wifi? If so, what is this product and where can I buy?
-Does this OBDII connection include the GPS thing that people are talking about (due to poor cell signal/triangulation)?