Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advantages of single piece pads on C6Z calipers and other C6Z brake questions.

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2015, 12:42 PM
BoostedEBZ06
Drifting

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Advantages of single piece pads on C6Z calipers and other C6Z brake questions.

I'm trying to get my C6Z set up to do a few HPDEs a year maybe 4-6 at most.

I've had a lot of experience with C5Zs but am new to C6Zs.

I'm looking into doing brakes right now and getting those sorted out. From what I've read the C6Z calipers aren't the best but they should work good for my usage. Although I have been slightly interested in the AERO6 caliper from Wilwood.

I usually ran the Raybestos ST43 with NT01 on my C5Zs and I loved those pads.

Looking for them for the C6Z they're only available in padlet form.

What are the advantages to a single piece pad compared to the padlet? Any recommendations on a single piece pad?

Also what's so bad about the stock C6Z calipers? I know the pad thickness and price is one issue 13mm vs. 17/20mm.

For tires I'll be running R888s or possibly PSS haven't decided yet.
Old 03-04-2015, 02:07 PM
ErnieN85
Safety Car

Received 265 Likes on 222 Posts

Originally Posted by BoostedEBZ06

I'm looking into doing brakes right now and getting those sorted out. From what I've read the C6Z calipers aren't the best but they should work good for my usage. Although I have been slightly interested in the AERO6 caliper from Wilwood.

What are the advantages to a single piece pad compared to the padlet? Any recommendations on a single piece pad?

Also what's so bad about the stock C6Z calipers? I know the pad thickness and price is one issue 13mm vs. 17/20mm.

single piece pads are easier to change if your removing the caliper to change.