Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installing hats on two piece rotors

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2015, 08:58 PM
NVR2L8
Drifting

Received 50 Likes on 34 Posts

Default Installing hats on two piece rotors

I have been using two piece rotors on my cars for several years, including DBA and AFX Performance. Each time I have installed new rings, I also installed new bolts, with Locktite added.

I upgraded this year to Wilwood front brakes, and the new rings do not come with a new bolt set.

My question: Do you install new bolts every time you change rings? If not, how often?

Thanks

Old 06-22-2015, 10:16 PM
ErnieN85
Safety Car

Received 266 Likes on 223 Posts

Originally Posted by NVR2L8
I have been using two piece rotors on my cars for several years, including DBA and AFX Performance. Each time I have installed new rings, I also installed new bolts, with Locktite added.

I upgraded this year to Wilwood front brakes, and the new rings do not come with a new bolt set.

My question: Do you install new bolts every time you change rings? If not, how often?

Thanks

every other time
Old 06-23-2015, 07:06 AM
UstaB-GS549
Drifting

Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts

Loctite Threadlocker Red 271 is designed for the permanent locking and sealing of threaded fasteners. The product cures when confined in the absence of air between close fitting metal surfaces. It protects threads from rust and corrosion and prevents loosening from shock and vibration. It is only removable once cured by heating up parts to 500°F (260°C).

I suspect your fasteners may be above this temperature. If not why would you replace them?
Old 06-23-2015, 10:35 AM
SouthernSon
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,103 Likes on 717 Posts