Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HowTo: Shop For 18'' C6-Z06 Track Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2015, 10:47 PM
mdaniel
Le Mans Master

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

Default HowTo: Shop For 18'' C6-Z06 Track Wheels

I'm still shopping for a set of (4) C6-Z06 track wheels to run Pirelli takeoffs (305 front / 315 rear). What do I need to look for? Does anyone sell a setup for this?

The shopping experience thus far has been pretty frustrating given I'm no expert on backspacing and all that crap.

I just want to get a set of track wheels to run scrubs without paying $4-5K for a set of lightweight race wheels made of Unobtanium.

Thanks guys.
Old 07-01-2015, 11:04 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,928 Likes on 5,333 Posts

CCWs are the most popular choice. I picked up a set earlier this year and just learned an expensive lesson this past Monday. The CCWs have a an outside hub diameter that is larger than the OEM wheels. This can become an issue when you have an aftermarket two piece rotor set up with a hat that has a sunken center section. Depending on the diameter of the sunken area the wheels may or may not fit. I had this situation and due to not paying attention to some warning signs lost my left front wheel in T1 at VIR on Monday. Body shop estimate is $3800 including $2600 for a new fender. The wheel is going back to CCW for some inspection to see if it is safe and it could cost me another $1K if it is damage beyond repair. I also have about $500 in damage to the Wilwood Brake Rotor and Hat.