Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C5 FRC - STU Budget/Newb Build, Thread

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2015, 09:37 AM
Ramo7769
Racer

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Default C5 FRC - STU Budget/Newb Build, Thread

I may as well stop cluttering everyone else's build threads with my stuff and put it in one place, even if it is far less impressive than Borg's and Lugod's.

Background on myself: I'm a mechanical engineer working in chassis controls. My main competitive driving experience aside from Gran Turismo and terrorizing local karting joints consists mainly of local solo events with a HS Volkswagen Jetta in college followed by 24 Hours of Lemons racing with a 1992 Chevy S10. Here's an article on our Class C win. I also had the fast lap for the class. 1:45.6 for Gingerman Short is only fast if you consider that we had 120hp. http://gmauthority.com/blog/2014/04/...emons-detroit/

I bought a C5 to advance beyond "wow, that guy in the Jetta is actually kinda quick" and to have a car to steer more with my feet. I'm currently leaving a lot of STU allowed modifications on the table. I'm mainly running ST so I can learn more about setup and will be building it more hardcore for STU over time.

I'm also looking to use up my autocross tires at the end of the season at a couple track days with the nice 3 ***** Racing folks you might know if you're familiar with Michigan car culture.

2015 Build:

Seat: Sparco Evo II, Brey and Krause harness bar with 5-point

Brakes: Stock with Hawk HPS pads

Engine: Z06 titanium catback

Wheels, Tires: 4x Z06 rear wheels, 275/35-18 Bridgestone RE-71R

Chassis:
Vette Brakes and Products springs.
1200 lb/in front, 800 lb/in rear
Strano Parts 33mm front swaybar (Currently set to full soft, we'll see if the test and tune this Friday has me leave it there)
Stock Z51 rear bar