Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Compensating for no Heel Toe

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2015, 11:32 PM
emptnest
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Default Compensating for no Heel Toe

I am an intermediate HPDE driver, newly certified to solo. My car is a stock 1993 LT1 Corvette, Z07, 6 psd, on street tires.

I know that I need to learn to heel toe shift, but that is currently not in my skill set. So, as a result, I find myself losing ground to others tracking out of most curves for which a downshift was required on corner entry ( such as turn 10 Pitt north, or turn 1 Summit Point main.

I am usually downshifting to 3rd approaching these curves. Until I learn Heal Toe, should I try downshifting to 2nd to compensate and dig out of the curve quicker?

My concern with that is that it may exacerbate my inability to manage RPM in that situation. That is to say that I am going too fast for 2nd, and without the ability to rev match properly, I will need to slow down even more to get into second.

Obviously learning Heel Toe is the long term solution. Is there a good short term alternative?
Old 07-18-2015, 11:54 PM
t.renz791
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well the good news is your car has lots of torque, you can just leave it in 4th the whole way around... or..... do your braking first, then downshift before your turn in as to not yank the back end of the car around when you let out of the clutch .... or...

Learn how to rev match.

What is holding you back from doing so? Do you do it on the street? My dad had a 4th gen vette, so I know the peddles are not placed great from the factory. Is that the issue?