Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

is anyone running SCCA T2 in a C5?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2015, 03:29 PM
ScaryFast
Safety Car

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Default is anyone running SCCA T2 in a C5?

I grow weary of chasing NASA's ST3 rules, and going up to ST2 doesn't help as there were basically no cars there last season in the Great Lakes region, so I am considering heading over to SCCA.

It looks like T2 is almost the same as PTA/TTA, basically a stock C5Z with some weight added (3450 lb comp weight) fits right in.

I am new to the SCCA regional vs majors race idea, so i am trying to understand how it works, how to qualify for the runoffs, and find some people who can help me understand what i need to do to make the car T2 legal (and competitive).

Anyone around here running older vettes?

TIA

Last edited by ScaryFast; 11-19-2015 at 03:29 PM.
Old 11-19-2015, 06:52 PM
fatbillybob
Melting Slicks

Received 205 Likes on 161 Posts

I am running SCCA T2 since T1 was detuned in 2013. I run locally out of California SoPac conference. This year I ran on the East from Michigan towards Virgina to Florida and Louisiana.

There is still a good core of C5's but the class has been written for the new Mustangs. We have too much weight and too small a restrictor. If you are a hot shoe you can compete with the mustangs. A mustang won 2015 daytona a power track. A Mustang was leading all qualy on a handling track Laguna Seca 2014. But the 2014 Runoffs lead mustangs took each other out and a Porsche beat a real hot shoe Kyle Kelly in his C5. Kyle Kelley won GT1 chamionship in 2014. He was the only threat for GT1 2015 but did not make his race. If Kyle can't win in a C5 not many others could.