Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mounting 6pt sub-straps with Marrad/Hardbar/MTI Aluminum brackets

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2016, 05:24 PM
mmacias2
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Mounting 6pt sub-straps with Marrad/Hardbar/MTI Aluminum brackets

I am looking to purchase a set of fixed back seats and being a tall driver my mounting options are most likely limited to the aluminum side mounts offered by various vendors (Hardbar/MTI/Marrad).

My question is how does one correctly mount the sub-straps of a 6 pt harness using these brackets?
Old 05-16-2016, 07:21 PM
StreetSpeed
Pro

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts

Originally Posted by mmacias2
I am looking to purchase a set of fixed back seats and being a tall driver my mounting options are most likely limited to the aluminum side mounts offered by various vendors (Hardbar/MTI/Marrad).

My question is how does one correctly mount the sub-straps of a 6 pt harness using these brackets?
Typically drill holes in the floor for your eye bolts, and use big *** washers or plates on either side of the floor to distribute the load of the eye bolts. Sounds scary but it's a piece of cake.
Old 05-17-2016, 02:40 AM
Matt_27
Instructor

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

I bolted the eyebolts to the side of my Marrad brackets, with the eyes facing inside underneath the seat bottom. Just used big washers as load spreaders.

For the lap belt if you get Schroth B23a fittings and bolt those to one of the unused holes in the brackets below your seat's harness holes it makes for very easy mounting.
Old 05-17-2016, 10:28 AM
mmacias2
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Matt_27
I bolted the eyebolts to the side of my Marrad brackets, with the eyes facing inside underneath the seat bottom. Just used big washers as load spreaders.