C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Fitting C4 suspension to C1 frame

Old 11-03-2005, 04:53 AM
mcanning
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fitting C4 suspension to C1 frame

Hi , I am a new member and this is my first time on the forum, I am in Australia and have a 59 Vette over here, I am wanting to upgrade my frame to take C4 suspension, I know you guys have a number of frame builders can do this but has anyone done this themselves, I have got a complete C4 front and rear set up and an uncle who has built hot rods all his life , but wondering if anyone has any tips or help they can offer so we don't make a mess of it
Thanks
Mark
Old 11-03-2005, 05:28 AM
BarryK
Le Mans Master

Received 35 Likes on 11 Posts

I have no clue at all if a C4 suspension can be retrofitted onto an existing C1 frame but a number of people have done C4 and C5 suspensions using custom tube frames such as the SRS111 frame.
John McGraw on this forum has done a '59 with the tube frame and C4 suspension that way. His car is a pierce of artwork.

I'm sure others with more helpful information will chime in.
good luck
Old 11-03-2005, 07:10 AM
78Vette-SA
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Welcome. It can be done. Don't know anyone who has done it themselves but you can maybe get some info at the site below.

Car Creations do it all the time at:

http://www.carcreationsinc.com/html_2/53frame.html

Also, checkm out Rich Lagasses' site at

http://www.richscorvettes.com/Web_Si...30/Page_4.html

They did his chassis also and he has some great pics of his beautiful rides.

Good luck!
Old 11-03-2005, 07:36 AM
cbernhardt
Safety Car

Received 833 Likes on 454 Posts
C1 of Year Finalist (track prepared) 2019

Mark:
I did a "homemade" frame conversion on a '62. You can see a complete pictorial story at: http://www.carols62.com