C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

What does matching numbers mean?

Old 02-13-2006, 04:21 PM
hurtadogracie
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What does matching numbers mean?

Hi there. I am new to this and wondered what does it mean for numbers to match? How does one match these numbers?
Thanks in advance for your help. Is there a book or someone I am to call?
Old 02-13-2006, 04:26 PM
crw41
Melting Slicks

Received 31 Likes on 21 Posts

Most commonly, it means that the number on the engine stamp pad matches the number on the vin plate under the glove box.

As everyone else will chime in - this is just the tip of the iceberg.

There are many numbered parts on all of these cars. In addition, in 2006, a numbers matching engine doesn't necessarily mean that it is the original engine.
Old 02-13-2006, 05:41 PM
chris ritchie
Melting Slicks

Received 85 Likes on 65 Posts

These are weasel words. The term is usually used to mislead. It's used to puff the value of a car for sale. It's used when you can't truthfully say that the part is original to the car, thereby increasing the value of the car. The term is grossly misused. What it usually means is that this part is wrong, but we're trying to make it sound better with this term. It almost always means the part is wrong. If it were right, the seller would say so.

Mostly used WRT to engines.
Old 02-13-2006, 06:51 PM
BarryK
Le Mans Master

Received 35 Likes on 11 Posts

as stated, matching numbers means that the motor has the correct numbers stamped on it to match the VIN of the car.
It's SUPPOSED to mean that the motor is the original motor that the car left the factory with which for many people is a desirable thing to look for and a car with the original motor typically will bring a significantly higher resell value.