C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Stupid Newbie with a Question...

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2006, 01:20 PM
red04c5
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stupid Newbie with a Question...

Hi all,

So I'm a newbie to the forums, but I've been around corvettes for years. I sold my 96 collector's edition C4 in August of 2004 to pick up one of the last of the C5s. My wife, who is only 4' 11" has a hard time driving the C5 (it's a 6-spd and she has a hard time pushing the clutch all the way to the floor) and she has decided that since she doesn't like to drive mine, she wants one of her own.

The girl has exquisite taste (hey, she married me, right ) so after numerous magazines, car shows, and Intenet searches, she's decided that she wants a '63 split window with T-tops.

I'm relatively positive that I can't afford a real one, and I would want to get her something that is mechanically sound, so I was wondering if any of you guys (and gals) knew about any aftermarket C2 "kits" like the "new" all-steel '69 Camaro bodies Year One is selling from Dynacorn Industries.

Any help would be greatly appreciated because, as you know, when momma's happy, everybody's happy!

I'm all ears , and thanks in advance for your help!!
Old 04-24-2006, 01:26 PM
Tossin
Melting Slicks

Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts

Others will chime in here, but to my knowledge, there are no decent kits (if any at all) for midyears. You'd basically have to find a birdcage from a junked midyear...and then buy the rest of the components yourself.

T-tops on a midyear? Didn't happen from the factory.
Old 04-24-2006, 01:35 PM
magicv8
Le Mans Master

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts