C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Distributor problem?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2007, 11:56 AM
JoeCool66
Burning Brakes

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Distributor problem?

I’m not a mechanic… I have a general idea of what I’m doing and I need advice…

I have a performance problem that has gotten worse and I’m not sure what it is. I’ve got a ’66 327/300; mostly stock except for a Mallory Unilite (mechanical adv) and a Holley 4160. It was running okay, had fair but slow acceleration and had some shutter at about 5000 RPM (yellow is at 5000 and redline is 5300). Thinking I could improve things by playing with the advance curve, I first replaced the cap, rotor and new plugs and even added a Mallory power filter/fuse for good measure (without changing the timing). Although the car idled smoother, I immediately noticed the car developed more shutter under hard acceleration at about 4000 rpm. I also noticed the water temp was a bit warmer than normal (only in slow traffic). I checked the timing and it was 18 initial, full advance of 42 @ about 3000RPM. Thinking I may have disturbed something changing the cap/rotor, I went and adjusted the timing by replacing springs and lowering the max advance to 38. I also checked the advance movement and tabs and all looks okay.

I have left it with the purple/grey springs, initial set to 18, full adv of 38 in by 2200. It idles smoothly, revs solid and has better acceleration but has a bad shutter at 4000-4500. One more strange thing… out of 4 test accelerations, one time it ran perfectly (smooth, powerful acceleration up to read line). Once more clue… I noticed that the timing mark is fairly smooth during the entire advance curve but once it maxes out, it fluctuates between full advance 42 and 38 (it does not stay steady at full advance) – is this my problem?