C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

C4 suspension disassembly and re-assembly

Old 10-04-2009, 12:19 PM
vettnut
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Default C4 suspension disassembly and re-assembly

First: How are some of you removing and eventually reinstalling the front and rear transverse springs in these C4's? I am looking at buying used suspension's from a C4 to use in my 60 restomod. The complete suspensions will be removed from its donor car. I will only have the suspension assemblys. Photos and tips are appreciated. How are rear wheel bearings done? Any advice appreciated. I have no experience with C4 cars. I have only restored C1 and C2 cars.

Thanks DG
Old 10-04-2009, 02:47 PM
Pop Chevy
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 775 Likes on 531 Posts
2021 C1 of the Year Finalist - Modified

The wheel bearings are sealed units, you have to change the whole thing. About $125 at the auto parts.
The spring in mine was cracked so I pitched it and went with coil overs, much more adjustable. The suspension units are fairly simple and nice to work with.
Old 10-04-2009, 04:41 PM
firstgear
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 640 Likes on 358 Posts
2019 Corvette of the Year Winner
St. Jude Donor '15

good question, but they sure look good back there......

I bought my set up complete from SRIII Motorsports.....since I was running larger rear tires I let them handle the details like narrowing up the bat wing.....

look closely and you can see the Car Creations logo in the casting. This is a Dana 44 set up.

The body is tubbed about 3" for the bigger tires and required the frame to be moved in board as well as the machining of the bat wing.....good luck...
Old 10-04-2009, 07:36 PM
78Vette-SA
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts