C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Perplexing vibration problem, somewhat load dependent

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2010, 03:36 PM
NEVERL8
Drifting

Received 248 Likes on 111 Posts

Default Perplexing vibration problem, somewhat load dependent

I have been chasing this problem for a couple of years now. It is more of an aggravation than a serious problem but I would still like to get it resolved. Here is a little history and background.

The vibration starts getting noticeable at approx 3500 rpms, and amplitude is proportional to the load on the engine/drive train. Under light or heavy acceleration the vibration can be felt through the car but not really through the shifter. The harder the acceleration the more noticeable the vibration and it also gets more noticeable as the rpms climb to the 6K redline.

I did in past have an incorrect clutch fan that caused a severe vibration in the fan/water pump assembly (it was definitely more severe as the rpms increased). So severe in fact that after a couple of full throttle redline blasts it caused a water pump mounting bolt to back out and coolant to leak all over the place. I replaced the fan clutch and all is good. I wonder if I may have bent the water pump shaft or somehow injured it, thus causing the vibration. Since the vibration I am experiencing is somewhat load related I discounted this.

I had the engine rebuilt and spent considerable time and money having all the internal reciprocating parts and assemblies balanced. I also had the flywheel and pressure plate mated and balanced together (I realize some do not like this approach) to a very high precision. I doubt it is engine internals causing the problem.

The harmonic damper was on the car when I bought it. Again, since the vibration is somewhat load related I did not see this as a potential problem source.