C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Tires for 67 327/300 power glide

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2010, 09:29 PM
Zcohen55
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tires for 67 327/300 power glide

I just purchased a 67 327/300 power glide convertible that used to belong to my father. The tires on the car are from 1989 and I need some new ones to ride around safely. The original spare is a bf goodrich; does that mean that the car probably had bfg whitewalls from the factory? I am considering going through certification and I want to buy the right tires. I'm new to the classic corvette game as an owner. I used to polish the chrome on this car when I was a kid, but that's it. My father sold the car in 87 and he passed away in 89. I just purchased the car this week and I want to do it right. Please help!
Old 10-04-2010, 10:54 PM
5thvet
Le Mans Master

Received 34 Likes on 27 Posts

In 67 Chevy was buying tires from US Royal, BFG, Firestone, Goodyear, and General. They were all bias ply and standard was blackwalls. Optional were 1/2 " whitewalls or 3/8" redlines. You can buy repro bias ply in the standard 7.75 X 15 if you like but I would recommend going with radials that look like the original buy handle 200% better. You can buy 215/70/15's from Coker or Diamondback. If you are having the car judged the point deduction for radials is not that great if you use the same manufacturer as original ( I think, others more acquainted with judging will chime in). Anyway hope that gets you started and welcome to the Forum!!! You've come to the right place.

Don
Old 10-04-2010, 11:02 PM
gilbybarr
Le Mans Master

Received 1,887 Likes on 794 Posts