C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

best way to dent a header for clearance once mounted?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2011, 11:25 PM
mikey
Melting Slicks

Received 135 Likes on 64 Posts

Default best way to dent a header for clearance once mounted?

hi guys.. i have a *slight* clearance issue between a header primary on hooker long tubes and a steering u-joint. it is so slight that it only touches occassionally.

obviously the headers are mounted plus they are coated. i really don't want to pull them off the car. i can pull the steering shaft easily.

what is the best way to dent / clearance the pipe? my concern is too much banging could crack the pipe or the weld at the flange less than 12" away from the area of concern. i have no other experience with denting headers - are they relatively mallable?
Old 03-21-2011, 11:38 PM
vetrod62
Drifting

Received 29 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by mikey
hi guys.. i have a *slight* clearance issue between a header primary on hooker long tubes and a steering u-joint. it is so slight that it only touches occassionally.

obviously the headers are mounted plus they are coated. i really don't want to pull them off the car. i can pull the steering shaft easily.

what is the best way to dent / clearance the pipe? my concern is too much banging could crack the pipe or the weld at the flange less than 12" away from the area of concern. i have no other experience with denting headers - are they relatively mallable?
The best way is to heat the header, as in torch, and pound on a socket to form it a round the problem. Coated, I would not heat it. But it may still work.
Old 03-22-2011, 06:20 AM
Aussi-66
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts