C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Brain Dump on restoring my 1958 hardtop

Old 01-04-2013, 08:52 PM
jusplainwacky
Melting Slicks

Received 131 Likes on 65 Posts

Default Brain Dump on restoring my 1958 hardtop

I rebuilt my 1958 hardtop and would like to share the information I learned on the way.

I have gotten a lot out of this forum and it’s time I gave back…so here you go.

This was an EXTENSIVE restoration…including removing ALL rivets, screws, a section of the frame on the passenger side where the “Y” bracket is located, and welding in a new section. The skin was sent out for paint. I also make my own hold-down bracket on the passenger side that connects to the decklid.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional at restoring these cars. I just have my own 1958 and the information provided here are things I learned. I don’t know if they are right, NCRS correct, if there is a better way of doing it, missing steps, and even maybe completely wrong. This is basically a brain dump of what I can remember and perhaps others can add their two cents. In other words, do your own home work and don't rely on this POST as the correct way of doing things! I am not responsible if you screw things up

NOTE: As I re-read this or think about things I have forgotten, I'll just update this original post - so it may change from time to time.

What I found out when restoring my top, is that I was all over this forum, the internet, and calling places to get info. I hope this POST saves some of you time if you plan to restore your hardtop.