C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Help Needed To Replace Front End Parts.

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2013, 03:41 PM
1966STER
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Help Needed To Replace Front End Parts.

My 66 (non power steering) has been fitted with a Poly Front End Kit from Vette Brakes and I want to replace it with original type parts.

The parts I want to replace are the: Idler Arm, Tie Rods and the (4) Tie Rod End Assemblies which are all available from LIC.

Note: the Pitman Arm and Steering Center Link Rod are GM and appear to be in excellent condition.

I have never done this work before so my questions are this:

1. Can I do this work with the car ontop of blocks with weight on all wheels or do I need to have the front wheels drop freely with the car supported by the frame with jacks?

2. Is a Pitman Arm Puller easiest way to remove the tie rod and idler arms whereas I do not have any air powered tools?

Thank you,
Rabvet
Old 01-18-2013, 03:54 PM
magicv8
Le Mans Master

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

1 jack stands, wheels hanging.
After installing a frames with new rubber bushings, do no torque down the aframe nuts until the car is on the floor again.

2 so easy with pullers, both for pitman tie rod ends, and ball joints

Last edited by magicv8; 01-18-2013 at 03:57 PM.
Old 01-18-2013, 05:03 PM
Bluestripe67
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,126 Likes on 1,465 Posts
C2 of the Year Finalist - Modified 2020

Something is confusing in your post. You don't say anything about the "A" arms, just bushings, so I'm assuming you are replacing the poly bushings in the "A" arms? If so, you will need a spring compressor, and it can be a dangerous job if you don't understand all the mechanics involved. Tell us a little more. Dennis
Old 01-18-2013, 05:48 PM
1966STER
Racer