C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

1958 Corvette brake job

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2014, 07:13 PM
bob-vette
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1958 Corvette brake job

This is my first time replacing the 4 sets of brakes on my 58. Everything is and will be stock. I have all the springs, shoes, etc. I installed the rebuilt brake cylinder and am reusing as many original parts as possible. It looks pretty straightforward but I have a few q's. The problem is stretching the 2 new springs at the top and 2 at the bottom of the shoes in order to install them. Is there a tool I should have to do this? They are too hard to do manually. What is the best sequence to reinstall the shoes, springs, retainers, adjuster, etc? Thanks, Bob
Old 03-02-2014, 08:42 PM
Redbird
Safety Car

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 573 Likes on 307 Posts
2021 C2 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
C2 of Year Finalist (stock) 2019
2016 C2 of Year Finalist

Go to your local auto parts store, NAPA,Autozone, etc. They have the tool. It's a matter of leverage. Don't forget to get the drums turned.
Old 03-03-2014, 07:29 AM
Steve59
Drifting

Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts

I'll be frank with this issue. There are many "original" parts that I like to use on my 59, but not in the brake area. Rebuilt/sleeved cylinders are fine, after that, I'd use "new" everything else. IMHO.
Old 03-03-2014, 09:27 AM
stratplus
Drifting

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts

I am not sure if you have these articles. Very well written.

http://www.corvettemagazine.com/tech...1962-corvette/

http://www.corvettemagazine.com/tech...1962-corvette/
Old 03-03-2014, 02:31 PM
JohnZ
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,857 Likes on 1,100 Posts

Originally Posted by bob-vette