C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

My Go At Using A Razor Blade To Remove Paint

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2014, 09:05 PM
Bud2
Bud2
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default My Go At Using A Razor Blade To Remove Paint

My 64s body is off the frame and time to get at the paint. I’m a novice but did all the research. Bought my blades and paint stripper from Por 15. Now I gotta tell ya I got nowhere with the razor blades. I can see where it may work on ‘some’ cases but not with my car. If she could laugh it would have giggled its way out of the garage. I’m certainly no paint expert but there are paints and there are paints. In my case, my car has nine layers of it – three of which seem to be hard as rock. It’s like counting rings on a tree trunk. So hard that the guy bead-blasting the wiper grills gave them back to me. Said it needed garnet to remove the paint. So I’ll do that when the frame gets cleaned up.