C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Did the J65 brakes come with power boosters?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2014, 11:23 AM
ifitgoesfast
Team Owner

Received 64 Likes on 49 Posts

Default Did the J65 brakes come with power boosters?

Or were they non-power?

My '64 has a 1967 master cylinder (double/proportional) with booster as it was slalom raced in the 70's and J65 drum brake cylinders (I have a 1964 master cylinder with booster on the side) and wanted to correct my set up, but not sure if there are any issues with the metallic drum brake shoes (J65) on my car. I could either rebuild the '67 master cylinder, which I think is the better MC, or correct the set up. The original brake pad shows non-power. But since I have the '64 MC with booster, I kinda want to install it that way. Don't know if it's correct though.

And yes, I know the '67 MC shouldn't fit because of the hood structure, but that past owner in the 70's cut out a notch that I'm either going to fix, or leave.

Thanks

Last edited by ifitgoesfast; 10-20-2014 at 11:29 AM.
Old 10-20-2014, 02:59 PM
JohnZ
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,858 Likes on 1,101 Posts

Originally Posted by ifitgoesfast
Or were they non-power?

My '64 has a 1967 master cylinder (double/proportional) with booster as it was slalom raced in the 70's and J65 drum brake cylinders (I have a 1964 master cylinder with booster on the side) and wanted to correct my set up, but not sure if there are any issues with the metallic drum brake shoes (J65) on my car. I could either rebuild the '67 master cylinder, which I think is the better MC, or correct the set up. The original brake pad shows non-power. But since I have the '64 MC with booster, I kinda want to install it that way. Don't know if it's correct though.