C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

58 - Unique grounding problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2014, 10:36 PM
jusplainwacky
Melting Slicks

Received 131 Likes on 65 Posts

Default 58 - Unique grounding problem

Being an Electronics Engineer, I am embarrassed to ask for help on this one, but I'm twisting my brain on this...

I bought the "grounding wire" package from CC that includes all the grounding wires including the braded cables. Corvette Central includes a small "cheat sheet" that tells you were they go, which is "vague" at best...and unfortunately my assembly manual is missing pages, torn, and all mixed up over the 30 years I have had it. So if anyone has any pictures of where these wires go, I'm all eyes!

Ok...the problem...

As most of you know, two braided cables go from each front motor mount bolt to one of the bolts on the frame bracket (which one, not sure)...but the issue is, my water-pump bracket is powder coated and so is the black washer you see. If I run a cable to this bolt, all I'll be doing is grounding the bolt because the powder coating is acting like an insulator.

In case some of you may suggest that I just scrape off some of the powder coating...eeehhh...not going to work cause it's thick and still won't make contact.

I was thinking of maybe putting something like a very small BB under the washer and squashing it into the bracket, then I'd have to do the same and put one from the bolt to the washer. But then I'd be concerned my washer wasn't sitting nice and flush and tight.

The only other suggestion I can think of is just bolting into the block cause there is a bolt hole there (you can barely see it at the top of the picture)...but then it certainly wouldn't look original.

Suggestions??

Name:  DSCN3180[1].jpg
Views: 510
Size:  50.6 KB
Old 10-21-2014, 11:01 PM
jusplainwacky
Melting Slicks