C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Faded Inetrior Carpet, Red 1959

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2014, 09:14 AM
Hulou
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Faded Inetrior Carpet, Red 1959

Hello,
The Red Carpet in my 59 Corvette is faded, No surprise--carpet is old, but still in good shape, the red Daytona Carept weave is just faded. The piping still looks pretty good/OK.

Question; Would the product that some of the vendors have for sale Carpet/Interior dye work? I was thinking about trying that dye on a smalll section of carpet before shelling out hunders on a new carpet. Does anyone have experience with this carpet dye, If so, please let me Know, advice welcomed? I have No experience in dying Carpet.

Best Regards,
Hs
Old 11-13-2014, 12:28 PM
dkleather
Melting Slicks

Received 334 Likes on 261 Posts
2016 C2 of the Year Finalist

I've redyed several carpets in Corvettes one being red. The color red isn't the same for all years so buying the dye should be from a place that has the right one for your year car. Mid America Motorworks has the dye formulated for the different years for around $19. Probably other vendors too.
The dye is like a thin based paint so it will take several coats. As long as the carpet looks good now, you should end up with a nice looking job in the end. Vacuum it really well and brush with a hard bristled brush to fluff it up some. Don't use a brush that pulls the fibers out or damages it in any way. Spray light coats from different directions covering all areas and repeat until you're happy with it or leave it and come back later for another coat. Once it's done the fibers will be stiffer than the original was but a final rebrush will get rid of much of that.
I've redyed dash pads, carpets and door panels with great success. Just buy the color formulated for your year to ensure the correct shade of red.