C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Question about rust developing in gas tank.

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2014, 12:25 PM
ryan22
Burning Brakes

Received 49 Likes on 19 Posts

Default Question about rust developing in gas tank.

Just installed a new gas tank. It looks like January here in MI now- freezing temps & snow. The classic car driving season is obviously done. Should i wait til spring to put gas into this new tank rather than have fuel sit in it for the next 3-4 months ?

What steps can be taken to inhibit rust from developing inside tanks ? Driving it regularly to avoid fuel becoming rotten, keeping the tank full and adding Stabil when its stored, what else ?

I've owned 3 C1's and 2 of those when I bought them- the inside of the tanks were completely covered in rust.

Thanks-
Old 11-20-2014, 12:37 PM
Kent in KC
Pro

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I'm not a scientist, but if I had a brand new tank and I wasn't going to drive it till next spring, I'd leave it empty.

Next year, I'd follow the normal routine of filling it up, adding Stabil, and leaving things untouched until the following Spring.
Old 11-20-2014, 12:40 PM
tuxnharley
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,937 Likes on 1,183 Posts

Originally Posted by ryan22
Just installed a new gas tank. It looks like January here in MI now- freezing temps & snow. The classic car driving season is obviously done. Should i wait til spring to put gas into this new tank rather than have fuel sit in it for the next 3-4 months ?

What steps can be taken to inhibit rust from developing inside tanks ? Driving it regularly to avoid fuel becoming rotten, keeping the tank full and adding Stabil when its stored, what else ?

I've owned 3 C1's and 2 of those when I bought them- the inside of the tanks were completely covered in rust.

Thanks-