C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Fake right?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2015, 05:49 PM
jacobsed
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Fake right?

65 Corvette big block re-stamped right? Everything about the car checks out as an original big block car except for this. The casting number of the block is correct. The car is telling me that the original motor was blown and rebuilt with the correct block and then stamped to match back up with the car. Nothing else looks out of place. Documented 3 owner car.

http://postimg.org/image/vyo5fv1u5/

Old 07-28-2015, 05:52 PM
Easy Rhino
Team Owner

Received 1,919 Likes on 1,332 Posts

Can't make a guess based on that picture, sorry.

However, why are you assuming that it is a restamp?
Old 07-28-2015, 05:56 PM
jacobsed
Racer

The font based on other known originals I've seen. But I'm also not an expert.

Originally Posted by Easy Rhino
Can't make a guess based on that picture, sorry.

However, why are you assuming that it is a restamp?
Old 07-28-2015, 07:39 PM
396/425
Racer

Received 30 Likes on 18 Posts

If you give these boys on here a better picture they will analyze that pad for you til the cows come home. HOWEVER there are a sea of restamped cars with all the "awards". If its a fair price, the rest of the car is solid. You LIKE it. I wouldnt write it off because its had a redo on the engine. There are a bunch of original engine cars who are rotted to the core. Buy yourself something with good bones. Good frame, cage, mechanical, paint. Thats the areas that will drain your bank account faster than anything. Ive got a 65 396 car that was blown up in like 1979. I couldnt care less what the stamp says. Actually mine is decked because nobody gave a crap back then. Ive had the "award" cars. This bad boy is by far the favorite of them all. Good luck. Like i said. Give them a good picture and grab your popcorn.