C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

DIY Zinc Plating - easier than I thought

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2015, 12:56 PM
jusplainwacky
Melting Slicks

Received 131 Likes on 65 Posts

Default DIY Zinc Plating - easier than I thought

Disclaimer: I have never done this before so there could be all sorts of ramifications in you doing this yourself. The chemicals used in Zinc plating can be very hazardous...proceed at your own risk!

I will up date this info as I see fit so it may change.

Note:
1. This recipe is enough to do hood latches.
2. ONLY PLATE ONE PART AT TIME!!
3. Always wear gloves and mask!!
Never touch the solution or breath the fumes!!
4. DO THIS OUTDOORS!!! The fumes are dangerous!!!
5. All parts have to be very clean and free of rust....sanded as necessary (the more polished before plating, the more shiny it will be). I used sprayed the parts with carb cleaner and let dry before plating.

When plating...the part must never touch the zinc!! Also, the Zinc will be attracted to the part and follow the path of least resistance while in the solution. You may get a "shadow" effect if you do not align your part to the Zinc part properly. It is a good idea to reorientate it periodically. Think of the zinc targeting the part like light (line of sight).

After reading a bunch of articles online on how to do Zinc plating, I decided to try it myself and found it a lot easier than I thought.

Anyone thinking of doing this will find that there are tons of recipes on what to use as the electrolyte and trying to figure out which one to go with can be confusing.
What I did was take everything I read and created my own recipe and hoped for the best...I was shocked at the results I got. Perhaps I lucked out but it was a lot easier and super cheap to do.

Allow me to explain what you will need...

GLOVES - EYE PROTECTION - DUST MASK IS A MUST!!