C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Wiring harness questions.

Old 02-14-2016, 10:56 AM
58n65
Burning Brakes

Received 143 Likes on 67 Posts

Default Wiring harness questions.

I'm wanting to completely re-wire my 65 conv. vette. I see on ZIP that they offer many different choices. How can I tell if my vette was an early or late vette? I want backup lights and will probably install a Vintage Air system (have to have AC in the south)!!! How can I tell if my car came with AC? It was taken apart when I got it and not every part came with it.

Will either of these work for my car?

http://www.zip-corvette.com/63-67-c2...s-package.html

http://www.zip-corvette.com/63-67-c2...s-package.html

Is there a better choice for complete wiring harness packages?

Sorry guys for these and future questions. I'm not a mechanic....JUST A CORVETTE LOVER!!!

Thanks,
58n65
Old 02-14-2016, 11:30 AM
1snake
Le Mans Master

Received 652 Likes on 446 Posts

If your car was an original AC car, it will have a vent above the clock that non-AC cars don't have.
For your wiring harness, early cars used a tracer color on a black wire, late cars used a solid color wire. Look at the wires that go to the headlight dimmer switch. If there is a black wire with a green stripe = early. If the wire is solid green = late. Ask Zip what brand of harnesses are in the kit. If they are not M & H brand, go to the M & H website and order them. They may be a bit more expensive but worth every penny.
Old 02-14-2016, 11:54 AM
58n65
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by 1snake
If your car was an original AC car, it will have a vent above the clock that non-AC cars don't have.