C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Engine/transmission/differential combo for a smooth cruiser?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2016, 10:47 AM
Brad-SixTsix
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Engine/transmission/differential combo for a smooth cruiser?

Hi all,

I've got my dad's '66 I'm restoring and modding. I can work on and do just about anything on a car as I have been an aircraft mechanic for over 10 years. I'm not really a car guy though, I don't know what works best with what as far as engine, transmission, and differential combos go.

I don't want a fast car with a million HP, I want a good driving car I can enjoy and drive often.

So far my plans are to part out a C4, use its suspension, engine, and seats. Reason being is because I'm on a budget, but I also think the TPI would be a great cruiser.

My idea is to use the TPI with a 6 speed T56 and a dana 44 rear with 4.11 ratio?
Would that combo make me a good cruiser?

What would you guys recommend?

Last edited by Brad-SixTsix; 04-13-2016 at 10:49 AM.
Old 04-13-2016, 12:50 PM
Nowhere Man
Team Owner

Received 6,943 Likes on 4,782 Posts
2015 C2 of Year Finalist

Problem with TPI there is very limited market for that. Also they got good torque numbers but run out of steem quick. I think stock Dana 44 rears used a 3.42 so not sure how a 4.11 would work. For a budget a stock 327/300 4 speed with a 3.08 or 3.36 can't be beat. I like that motor more then a L98. Plus it's simple to work on and looks better. My 2 cents
The following users liked this post:
Brad-SixTsix (04-13-2016)
Old 04-13-2016, 01:02 PM
VeroWing
Burning Brakes

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

Why not just buy a Borg Warner T5 WC 5-speed, and keep everything else as it is.
Old 04-13-2016, 03:12 PM
tuxnharley
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,939 Likes on 1,185 Posts