C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Noob looking to buy a 1962 C1 Vette - Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2016, 01:56 PM
Whitedolemite
5th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Noob looking to buy a 1962 C1 Vette - Need Advice

Noob here, and I fell in love with the '62 Vette decades ago and have been following some ads for about a year now.

This car would be a daily driver. I put about 3,000 miles a year on my current car (I work within a mile from my house - so I don't rack up a lot of miles).

I don't really care about matching numbers or how original the car is, rather I'm looking for a fun convertible to drive.

I think I have found one that looks like a fair price ($30k). What advice can you give a first time buyer of a C1?

What should I look for?
What should I expect for maintenance?
Do I need a backup vehicle for when it's in the shop?
Any tips/advice you wish someone had told you before buying?
Anyone use their classic vette as a daily driver?

Thanks and I apologize in advance for any stupid questions!
Old 07-21-2016, 11:40 PM
vettebuyer6369
Administrator

Location: About 1100 miles from where I call home. Blue lives matter.
Received 5,329 Likes on 2,775 Posts

Moving from Cars For Sale classified to General discussion.
The following users liked this post:
Whitedolemite (08-04-2016)
Old 07-22-2016, 01:14 AM
ptjsk
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,901 Likes on 883 Posts

Wow....a '62 for 30K? And it sounds like it runs?

Better do your due diligence with that one.

Get it on a lift, and carefully scrutinize the car from front to back. Check for frame rust, especially back near the "rear kick-ups." This is where the frame jumps up, just prior to going up and over the rear axle.

Look for any signs of body damage, and/or body repairs.